More Member Information

More Member Information

More Member Information

 

 


 

Power Cost Recovery Factor (PCRF)

 

The Public Utility Commission of Texas has approved a rate adjustment procedure which does not require formal hearings, nor the expense involved. This procedure is known as the Power Cost Recovery Factor.

 

The Power Cost Recovery Factor changes monthly and allows SWTEC to pass through the increases or decreases in fuel costs which are reflected in the wholesale power expense.


These charges are in addition to the SWTEC base rate. Any decreases in wholesale power cost are passed on to you by way of a credit to your bill. On the other hand, any increases in wholesale owner cost are reflected on your bill as an additional charge. All of the fuel cost collected by SWTEC is passed directly on to our wholesale power supplier - West Texas Utilities Company.

 


 

Disconnect and Reconnect Information

 

Bills for electric service are sent out each month. The net amount of the bill is due upon receipt and delinquent after 16 days from the date the bill is issued. After proper notice has been given, the service is subject to disconnection if not paid within 26 days from the date issued.

 

If the service is disconnected for non-payment, a trip fee of $50.00 will be charged. A reconnect of service after a disconnect will be charged an additional rip fee of $50.00.

 

It is to every member's advantage, and greatly simplifies SWTEC's work, if bills are paid on time. If, for some reason, a bill cannot be paid within 16 days, please contact the office and possibly some arrangements can be made.

 

Don't ignore your responsibility and allow your service disconnected for non-payment. This creates extra expense and inconvenience for you and extra work for your SWTEC off ice and crew. Your cooperation i this is appreciated and is to your advantage.

 


 

When You Move

 

A member is responsible for all kilowatt hours registered on the meter up to one working day after the date on which we are notified of a transfer or to disconnect the service.

 

If the service is to be disconnected, please notify us of the date you are vacating and the approximate date the disconnect should be made. Upon disconnection, we will get a final reading and send you a final bill on the next regular billing date.

 

WARNING - Reconnection of one's own service after it has been disconnected for any reason is dangerous practice and is an illegal act. Texas law makes any tampering with a meter, or attempting to steal electricity in any way, an illegal act that is punishable by fine or imprisonment, or both.